Admission Helpline : +91-8731944477, 8131848860, 9311688991, 9540742220.
Admission Helpline : +91-8731944477, 8131848860.

National Skill Qualification Framework (NSQF)

Find Programme Apply Now

National Skill Qualification Framework (NSQF): –

Recognizing the high demand for skill in the country, Ministry of Finance vide notification No. 8/6/2013-Invt. dated 27th December 2013 notified the National Skill Qualification Framework (NSQF) that provides a common reference framework for linking various vocational qualifications and setting common principles and guidelines for a nationally recognized qualification system and standards.

Observations: –

  • 80 percent of new entrants to the workforce have no opportunity for skill training.
  • Against approximately 15 million per annum new entrants to the workforce, the existing training capacity is approximately 3 million per annum.
  • Additionally, a large number close to 200 Million at IX, X, XI, XII drop out who need Vocational skills to be employable. This number is likely to be 500 Million by 2020.
  • Mere skill building is not widely accepted within society.
  • Mere Acquiring degrees or Diplomas does not guarantee jobs. Hence a new paradigm is required to build skills and education together for multiple pathways and multipoint entry-exit opportunities.
  • Loss of productive youth
  • Overqualified youth and non-availability of appropriate jobs.
  • The mismatch between Qualifications and Industry needs.
  • Need to provide seamless integration between Vocational education and Regular Higher Education.
  • Need to Enhance employability potential

Objectives: –

  • Bridge skill gap and provide trained manpower to various emerging service sectors in India.
  • Strive towards the development of skilled manpower for the diversified sector through short term, structured job oriented Courses.
  • Prepare the youth for a vocation of their choice;
  • Build a formidable workforce of international quality for Demand not only in India but also in all other countries.
  • Reduce unemployment by supplying world-class skilled people
  • Reduce cost and improve the productivity of services and manufacturing by providing skilled manpower to international standards

How it Works: –

The NSQF is composed of 10 levels, each representing a different level of complexity, knowledge, and autonomy required to demonstrate the competence commensurate for that level. Level one of the framework represents the lowest complexity while level 10 represents the highest level of complexity. The levels are defined by criteria expressed as learning outcomes. It is important to note that the level of NSQF are not directly related to years of study.

For Ref. : No. 8/6/2013-Invt. dated 27th December 2013